NEEA Announces 2019 - 2020 Board of Directors

Energy efficiency leaders tapped to help guide regional alliance

PORTLAND, Ore. – Jan 7, 2020 - The Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance (NEEA), a non-profit alliance of utilities and energy efficiency organizations working to accelerate energy efficiency in the Northwest, has announced new appointments to its Board of Directors. Founded in 1997, the alliance launched its sixth, five-year business cycle on January 1, 2020.

In 2019, the Board welcomed several new members:

  • Dan Bedbury - Director of Energy Resources,  Clark Public Utilities
  • John Chatburn – Idaho Governor's Representative, Administrator, Idaho Office of Energy and Mineral Resources
  • Suzanne Frew – Senior Program Manager, Snohomish Public Utility District
  • Lauren McCloy Washington Governor's Representative, Senior Policy Advisor, Washington Governor's Office
  • Lori Moen –Manager Solutions Design, Seattle City Light
  • Anna Scarlett – Director of Energy Efficiency, Avista Utilities

The Board also reappointed Ben Otto of the Idaho Conservation League to serve a three-year term as the Public Interest Representative. Outgoing Board members include Jim Baggs, Seattle City Light; Larry Blaufus, Clark PUD; Dan Johnson, Avista Utilities and Scott Pugrud, Idaho Office of Energy and Mineral Resources.

“NEEA’s Board of Directors provides crucial leadership of this organization,” said Susan E. Stratton, NEEA’s executive director. “The Board members’ expertise in energy efficiency helps NEEA more effectively drive collaborative market transformation. Their guidance and direction will help lead the alliance ahead into this new business cycle.”

NEEA's 20-member Board consists of representatives from the Bonneville Power Administration, consumer- and investor-owned natural gas and electric utilities, state government, and public interest and efficiency industry organizations.   

Other members currently serving on NEEA’s Board include Stephen Bicker, Tacoma Power; Holly Braun, NW Natural; Scott Coe, Emerald PUD; Michael Colgrove, Energy Trust of Oregon (Board Secretary); Monica Cowlishaw, Cascade Natural Gas; Theresa Drake, Idaho Power; Jason Eisdorfer, (Oregon Governor's Representative); Andrew Grassell, Chelan Public Utility District (Board Chair); Bonnie Rouse, Montana Energy Office (Montana Governor's Representative); Bob Stolarski, Puget Sound Energy; Cory Scott, Pacific Power (Vice-Chair); Kim Thompson, Bonneville Power Administration; and Deb Young, NorthWestern Energy.

NEEA has scheduled 2020 Board meetings on the following dates:

• Mar 23-24 in Seattle
• June 22-23 in Sun Valley, Idaho
• Sept 14-15 in Montana (City TBD)
• Dec 3-4 in Portland

NEEA's Board meetings are open to the public. The organization sends out public meeting announcements prior to each meeting.  All meeting materials are available on the day of the event on the calendar.  To receive these meeting notices, please subscribe to NEEA’s e-subscriptions at

For more information on NEEA Board meetings or other NEEA events, visit NEEA’s calendar at .


The Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance (NEEA) is an alliance of more than 140 utilities and energy efficiency organizations working on behalf of more than 13 million energy consumers. NEEA is dedicated to accelerating both electric and natural gas energy efficiency, leveraging its regional partnerships to advance the adoption of energy-efficient products, services and practices.

Since 1997, NEEA and its partners have saved enough energy to power more than 620,000 homes each year. As the second-largest resource in the Northwest, energy efficiency can offset most of our new demand for energy, saving money and keeping the Northwest a healthy and vibrant place to live.

Media Contact:
Veronica Marzilli, NEEA